My cruelty free work make up

Hi everyone

Like I’m sure many of you when thinking about make up for work there is a constant and difficult decision to make, do I have an extra 15 minutes in bed or do I make an effort with my hair and make up knowing that later in the day I will appreciate this. To be honest normally sleep wins out even though I am not sure scientifically of the actual value of an extra 15 minutes at the time it feels like my life depends on it.

So because of this I have had to come up with a routine of how I do my work make up so that 1. I actually put it on, 2. it looks half decent and I don’t regret it 3. I don’t do one eye and forget the other. So here is my work make up routine.

The first thing I do once I am out of the shower is my cleansing and moisturising routine which I have detailed in other post. Once this is done I use primer, I actually have only been using primer for about 4 years which and I am not sure how I actually got through the first part of my twenties without my make up sliding straight off my face (it most likely did). Now I love it and for work I use a two different ones.

IMG_1721

The first one is the Boots Natural Collection Hydrating and Radiance Primer. It is really thick and sticky which doesn’t sound like it would be good but is amazing at keeping my make up stuck to it all day. It is also pearly like and almost adds a highlighting affect under my make up. It really feels like it brightens up my face.

IMG_1718

The other primer I use is much lighter and is the ELF mist primer. It is so light weight that it feel like water is being sprayed across my face however it is actually a really good primer. I wore this to work on a day when I was in the office all day sitting at my desk so I wasn’t doing anything too heavy duty but it did the trick and kept my make up on. I will have to test this on a day when I am rushing around and also a night out as I am not sure it is heavy duty enough but for a day at work I love it.

IMG_1828.JPG

One my primer has soaked in it is over to foundation and I have been using the Collection Lasting Perfect foundation currently in the lightest shade (I think), cool ivory. I really don’t get on with foundation that have a yellowy or orangey undertone which means I often end up going for a tone lighter than my actual skin and then adding colour back in with my bronzer to stop my self looking tangoed.

IMG_1723

The next thig I do is blot on the Natural Collection translucent loose power with a brush. I added this step in recently as I find that on my T zone it really helps keep my skin matte and non greasy. I literally shake a bit out on to the brush on dap it over my t-zone then leave it to set for a few minute and then get my big fluffy brush and wipe any excess off.

Next I go over my face with the Natural Collection powder in Neutral, this adds a very light coverage and set my foundation in areas that I haven’t used the loose powder and then again I brush off any excess with my big fluffy brush.

IMG_1726

Then I add in bronzer, I don’t really contour but do go some way to this with my bronzer, I add bronzer in a 3 shape across the edge of my forehead / eyes, underneath my cheek bone and then under my chin. I keep it really light as I don’t want any patchy bits or mistakes for work and want it to look natural. For bronzer I use two, the MUA bronzed perfection shimmer in Sahara Sunlight and the ELF sun kissed bronzer in Warm Tan.

IMG_1726

Then I move to my brows and I use a trusty old faithful brow pencil from Rimmel. I am vegan and have been for about 2 and a bit years and cruelty free before that for about another 2 years so I stopped using Rimmel as they test on animal. However pencil is perfect for me and the timeframe of my cruelty free life tells you how long I have had this one pencil for and I shouldn’t even keep it for that long but I just keep going back to it (no judgement please I am trying to find another one).

IMG_1738

Then finally for mascara I use the natural Collection water proof mascara in black and the ELF lengthening and defining mascara. I have quite blonde lashes for someone with dark brown hair so find mascara does actually make a difference.

So that is my quick and easy morning routine, I would love to know yours.

Thanks for reading

AKL

Author: AKLcrueltyfreelife

I am a animal loving, vegan beauty fanatic. I love discovering new vegan beauty and toiletries and also a bit of a foodie (vegan of course). This blog is what I have learnt, loved and brought since becoming vegan.

Leave a comment